One Man’s Love Affair with Motorized Transport

(Chapter 12: The big breakup)

Debbie and I were in love, and in the winter of 1971, I asked her to marry me and she said yes.  We decided to go ring shopping at one of the larger department stores in the Tri-County shopping mall, Pogues I believe it was.  Debbie found a set she really liked and I put a down payment on it.

My plan was to give her the engagement ring for Christmas and we would announce it then.  I was happy with the choice she made as it was within my budget, so I paid the ring set off and gave it to her for Christmas.

Her parents seemed to be truly happy about the engagement, but mine were not so much.  Dad didn’t really say too much, but mom was not very supportive of my decision.  Of course being very close to 20 years old myself, naturally I thought I knew more than my parents, so I didn’t pay much attention to her.

Somehow being engaged made our sexual escapades seem more acceptable, at least to us.  We figured it was okay being as we were going to be man and wife soon anyway.  Although we hadn’t really set a date yet, we didn’t want to wait a long, long time.  Debbie was a senior now and would graduate in June, so we figured anytime after that would be fine.

I never was a very big fan of her new high school (NCH) and didn’t care a lot for her friends there as well.  One in particular I was not a fan of at all.  His name was Ted and he was the boyfriend of one of Debbie’s girl friends.  Nancy was her name I think, been a long time.

In any case, Ted seemed to be just a tad too friendly to Debbie and I told her I didn’t like it.  She blew it off as silly, and said he was actually afraid of me, but it bothered me a lot.  As things often do, the problem escalated as one thing led to another.  I found out that Debbie and Ted had been spending time alone together and that was all it took for me.

I believe all of this took place in late January or early February of 1972, and I asked Debbie for my ring back, which she gave me.  The engagement was off and while I was somewhat relieved in a way, I was also very sad at the same time. I loved Debbie a lot and to think she would cheat on me hit me pretty hard.

I tried my best to get over her and move on with my life, but I had been down this road before and found that the Debbie bug was hard to shake.  I hung out with my friends, even went out to some of the nightclubs to see if that would help. It didn’t, all I could think about was her and so I spent some serious alone time thinking about what to do.

It’s funny how when you get frustrated, guys tend to take their frustration out on their cars. I was no different, but I really felt bad when I did stupid things like that.  Even though the car had no feelings, I felt bad that I hurt it.  Of course a lot of times it came back to haunt you later when the damage you did is realized.  Luckily I didn’t go that far.

I spent about a month in shear hell wondering what she was doing, if she missed me, etc.  I was determined not to call her though as I had done that the last time.  This time it would be her that called if she truly wanted me back.  On this point I was adamant.  No one could sway me from my steadfast position on this.

Well, it would be a short story if that were the case, it turns out that a little feller named Chris would change all of that.  I don’t really remember how it happened, but I got wind that Debbie was pregnant.  I believe my sister Judy had heard about it, through channels, but I can’t be for certain.

When I heard this, all bets were off.  I called Debbie and asked her if it was true. After some crying and denying, she finally admitted she was in fact with child.  I told her that I missed her and was sorry for all the things I had said.  She said she was sorry also but that she didn’t want me to think she was trying to trap me.  She told me she would go it alone if I didn’t want to marry her now, but of course I told her she was nuts if she thought I didn’t want to be with her.

After the tearful phone conversation we made plans to see each other soon after and let me tell you, if you didn’t already know it, make up sex is truly a great thing!  And it’s even better when you know there is no chance the girl will get pregnant.  To  say the least, it was a joyous reunion and I wish it could have lasted forever.

But it didn’t and we now had to make plans for a sooner rather than later wedding.  Join me next time when the wedding takes place.

For those who would like to follow the count, I will keep a running tally of my vehicle list here.

About mosslack

Not much to say
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment