One Man’s Love Affair with Motorized Transport

Chapter 17: Fun while it lasted

As I mentioned last time, we had gotten behind with the rent due to my quitting a perfectly good job to work at a car wash, but I never really talked about our life at this place too much. To be honest, I didn’t really know how much detail I wanted to go into, but I guess at least some mention of what went on there is in order.

I never was all that much of a drinker, but every now and then a friend would stop by and want to go out for a drink. Sometimes this included Debbie, but this one time in particular it didn’t. I don’t really remember why, but it might of been because the friend this time was Tom, who still didn’t have a steady girlfriend and was always on the prowl for one.

We just stopped at a local bar on our way to the apartment just for a minute. I guess either Debbie had followed us or just happened by and saw the car there. Whatever the reason, she poked her head inside and saw we were in there and that was all it took for the fight to be on.

We went back to the apartment and she was fit to be tied, screaming and yelling obscenities about me being out drinking with Tom. All of this dumbfounded me as I only had 1 beer and was just standing there at the bar talking to Tom. Oh wait, he might of been talking to a girl, I don’t really remember all of the details.

In any case, our argument went back and forth as usual and finally I had enough and said I was leaving. She said I wasn’t and tried to get my keys. That never went well for her and in no time I was sitting behind the wheel of the Buick. She had followed me out and so I locked the doors and started the car.

I guess I didn’t realize just how serious she was about me not leaving so she jumped up on the hood of the car and was screaming at me through the windshield. Being the hard headed person I am, I simply put the car in gear and took off.

So here we go, down the street, with me swerving and stopping, trying to throw her off the hood, and her hanging on the windshield wipers for dear life. I didn’t go too far before I realized I could just stop the car and walk away, which I did. Locked the door and left her on the hood with the car in the middle of the street.

In no time at all she gave up her position and started walking back to the apartment, crying all the way. As soon as she was far enough away I got back into the car and went on my way.  Just one of the many little argument/fights we would have over the next year.

I also remember one other time while we lived here we had a good one, the result of which was that I turned over each piece of furniture in the living room, just for spite. It just so happened when she returned from wherever she had been, she brought her mother back with her.  More fun times…

Not all of the things which happened during this time were bad, on January 5, 1974, Debbie gave me one of the most precious gifts ever, a daughter. I remember seeing her for the first time, with her head full of hair, so different than when Chris came out completely bald.

I wanted her name to be as beautiful as she was, something which was different and special. Although I hadn’t heard the name used as such so much, I always liked the time of the year in the fall when the leaves were so beautiful and the weather is perfect, Autumn Renee Burton.  Just had the perfect ring to it.

I guess at this point, there was just too much going on to remember all of the details, but it seems like we may have moved in with my sister for a short time before we found a new place, but I can’t remember for certain. What I do know is we needed a new place which was both affordable and a bit larger than the last place.

Although the place we found was not ideal, it met our requirements and so we moved once again.  This time to upper Fairmount and the Fay apartments. These rent subsidized townhouse apartments fit our financial and size needs perfectly. Of course the people who live in places like these don’t always make the best neighbors, but we were young and naive, so we figured we could make friends with anyone.

To be continued…

For those who would like to follow the count, I will keep a running tally of my vehicle list here.

 

About mosslack

Not much to say
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment