One Man’s Love Affair with Motorized Transport

Chapter 20: The beginning of the end

Still not working, our time together was just too much, we were constantly in each other’s face.  This is not the natural order of things which normally occurs.  Someone should be out earning money to support the family and that person was me.

But as it often did, my laziness took over and I figured why work when I have plenty of food and a car to drive.  I primarily blame myself for our impending split.  I should have been a man and went out to provide for my family.  Debbie had also changed, she no longer had any respect for me.  Who could blame her,

Along about this time we became very good friends with one of the security guards who worked for Fay apartments, a black guy by the name of Steve Dicks.  Steve was okay, he seemed to have his life in order.  He drove a nice car, always seemed to have plenty of money and was a pretty good looking tall skinny dude.

Things were not getting any better with Debbie and I, she seemed more distant than ever and it was about this time that for some reason or another, I didn’t pay the rent and we were going to be evicted.

Another one of our friends was an older black gentleman who owned a bar down in town, I think the name of it was the twenty grand club or something like that.  In any case, Debbie asked him if he would loan us the money to pay the rent as I was unable to get it from my parents or anyone else.

He agreed, but wanted the Vista Cruiser as collateral on the loan.  We had no choice and so he took the car.  Once again without a vehicle I was forced to borrow one from Judy and Huey as they had 2 vehicles at the time.  A 1968 Ford LTD wagon, but at least we had wheels again.

Debbie became more distant than ever and she often took long walks around the apartment complex.  Being the stupid person I was, I didn’t realize she was secretly meeting with Steve and falling in love with him.  It took awhile to sink in, but it finally did so I confronted both of them.

She readily admitted it was true, but Steve denied it.  We tried marriage counseling, but that ended when Debbie refused to stop seeing Steve.  Several other things happened about this time and I knew it was time to move on.  Debbie had told me during one of our previous discussions that she wanted me to take the kids should anything happen.  I should have known something was up way back then, but as I already said, I was stupid..

I asked my sister if I could move in with them on a temporary basis and she and Huey agreed.  I was deeply hurt to think that Debbie had abandon me for another man, but as I said, it was mostly my fault for not being a man and providing properly for her and the kids.

At one point I had left the kids with Debbie’s mother and when I returned I found that Debbie had been there and took the kids.  Eileen had called the police, but as is often the case in this situation, the police took the mother’s side over the grandmother and let her take the children.

It was at that point that I decided to get serous about the divorce.  Up until that time I was using a free lawyer to handle the case as I thought Debbie would stick to what we agreed on.  I hired a prominent attorney and within no time at all I was back at the Fay apartments to get my kids.

I told Debbie as I drove off with them that it was for the best as her electric service was about to be shut off.  I had called the electric company and told them to remove the service from my name.  Yes, I could be vindictive as well.

I can only remember having further contact with Debbie on a couple of occasions, one time she tried to take the kids again, but I would not let her. She tried to spray me in the face with mace, but I refused to let go.  Debbie left and I believe that was the last time she tried to even see the children.

We finally got a place of our own not too long afterwards.  Join me next time for more adventures and another vehicle story.

For those who would like to follow the count, I will keep a running tally of my vehicle list here

About mosslack

Not much to say
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment