One Man’s Love Affair with Motorized Transport

End of section I: What have we learned?

The first 20 chapters have been completed, and we’ve covered 15 of the vehicles I’ve owned so far. When I started writing this book, I really never had any outline or idea of where it would lead or just how we would get there, but I think the more I’ve written the clearer everything looks to me.

So it seems I’ve decided to break the book up into sections, the first one having just been completed.  I think this is a logical place to end the first section with my life changing direction as Debbie and I split up and go our separate ways. I think this will lead to a better book in the end, rather than having a gazillion chapters with no sense of direction.

I also believe a bit of a pattern can be detected at this point and whether it’s clear or not to the reader is anybody’s guess, but I of course see it because it’s my life and I know just how I think and act in most any given situation. If it’s not clear now, I assure you it will be a some point in the near future.

As far as my vehicle choices go, I have always been able to see the potential in any purchase that I’ve made and whether it was my parents or Debbie, or any other person of concern, they never share that vision. I’m usually mocked for my choices and for the most part the people who don’t share my insight into these purchases have been right.

This is almost never because of it not being possible, but rather because I usually don’t have the resources to complete my vision for what a vehicle could be. I’m not sure if that makes me a dreamer, or just plain too lazy to get the job done, but it has been a recurring theme in my life for sure.

Vehicle #16

This is a great example of just what I’m talking about. I bought this car mainly just to prove Debbie wrong as it didn’t run at the time I bought it, but to me, it would have been such a great car if I could have only made it work. A 1962 Pontiac LeMans, with 4 cylinder, 4 barrel carb and 4 speed transaxle! The car pictured here is the wrong color but it should give you an idea of what the car looked like.

Although I got it to fire a few times, as usual, I didn’t have the proper resources to do what needed to be done, so this vehicle was one of my worst purchases. I believe Debbie could see that I was not going to change and would continue to do as I wanted whether she liked it or not, so this may have been part of her decision to pursue another man.

I am also a practicing procrastinator of the highest magnitude and much too proud of that fact as well. My mother is always quick to point out that I used to poop my pants as a child and I remember vividly the reason why. It was simply that I was having fun and didn’t want to stop for such an unpleasant task. I believe this may have been the start of my procrastination, you think?

So as we end the first section, perhaps we should look to the future and where I’m headed post Debbie. Will I be able to buy any vehicle I want without fear of judgement from others?  Stay tuned to find out, the answer may surprise you…

For those who would like to follow the count, I will keep a running tally of my vehicle list here

About mosslack

Not much to say
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment